15.2 C
Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomeDefenceCambodian PM Says AUKUS Becoming Concern for ASEAN Over Nuclear Proliferation

Cambodian PM Says AUKUS Becoming Concern for ASEAN Over Nuclear Proliferation


Related stories

UK’s Cameron praises progress in joint effort with Albania to stop illegal migration

TIRANA, Albania -- British Foreign Secretary David Cameron hailed progress...

The Internet eats their Young

London (20/5 - 20). One academic was asked about...

Russia: When troop levels are not enough?

Moscow 22/5 (57.14) According to NATO's top military official, Russia...

Attempted coup in the Democratic Republic of the Congo thwarted

Government forces in the Democratic Republic of the Congo...

Cambodian Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen said on Monday that the tripartite AUKUS alliance, a military pact among the United States, Britain and Australia, is becoming a concern for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

Under the AUKUS alliance, which was announced in September 2021, Australia will be able to build nuclear-powered submarines with technology provided by the United States and Britain.

“The small-scale alliance relevant to nuclear-powered submarines among the U.S., Britain and Australia is becoming a concern for ASEAN and countries in the region because ASEAN is a nuclear weapon-free zone, and we oppose nuclear weapon proliferation,” he said in a speech during the graduation ceremony of nearly 6,000 students at the Royal University of Law and Economics.

Hun Sen said this military alliance is the “starting point of a very dangerous arms race” in the region.

“I think if this situation continues, the world will face a bigger danger,” he said.

Joseph Matthews, a senior professor at the BELTEI International University in Phnom Penh, said AUKUS is posing a major security threat to ASEAN and the whole Asian region.

“This alliance will trigger a conventional and nuclear arms race in the region, and thus destabilize the peace and security, undermine the economic development and destroy the ASEAN’s centrality,” he told Xinhua.

ASEAN groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories